Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Military & Veteran Lawyer
Veteran Owned and Operated Law firm
Military & Veteran Lawyer > Blog > Military Disability Information > Physical Disability Board of Review

Physical Disability Board of Review

THIS INFORMATION SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED AS LEGAL ADVICE. YOU SHOULD STRONGLY CONSIDER THE BENEFITS OF CONSULTING WITH A TRAINED LEGAL PROFESSIONAL

Physical Disability Board of Review

If you were medically-separated from the U.S. military between September 11, 2001 and December 31, 2009, you now have the opportunity to have your disability rating reviewed by the Physical Disability Board of Review (PDBR) to ensure fairness and accuracy.

What is the Physical Disability Board of Review?

The Physical Disability Board of Review, or PDBR, was legislated by Congress and implemented by the Department of Defense (DoD) to ensure the accuracy and fairness of combined disability ratings of 20% or less assigned to service members who were discharged between September 11, 2001 and December 31, 2009.

  • The PDBR uses medical information provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs and the military department.

  • Once a review is complete, the PDBR forwards a recommendation to the secretary of the respective branch of the armed services.

  • It is up to the individual service branch to make the final determination on whether to change the original disability determination.

For a visual overview of how the process works, view the application process.

History

  • Congress passed the Dignified Treatment of Wounded Warriors Act in January 2008.
  • DoD issued the DoD Intstruction 6040.44
  • The PDBR was then introduced in 2009.

There are significant differences between the PDBR and the Board for Correction of Military (or Naval) Record (BCMR/BCNR) review.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1:

What is a Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q2:

Who is eligible for a Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q3:

If the eligible Veteran is incapacitated or deceased, can someone else request a Physical Disability Board of Review on his or her behalf?

Q4:

How long do I have to apply for the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q5:

How do I request the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q6:

I wasn’t in the Air Force. Why am I mailing my application for the Physical Disability Board of Review to Randolph AFB?

Q7:

What should I include with my application for the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q8:

Is there another way the Physical Disability Board of Review occurs?

Q9:

What if I don’t consent to a Physical Disability Board of Review initiated review and then later change my mind?

Q10:

What is the difference between a Board for Correction of Military (or Naval) Records (BCMR/BCNR) review and a Physical Disability Board of Review; and can I file with the PDBR and BCMR/BCNR?

Q11:

Can you give me an example of differences between Board for Correction of Military (or Naval) Records (BCMR/BCNR) review and a Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q12:

Should I choose a Board for Correction of Military (or Naval) Records (BCMR/BCNR) review or a Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q13:

Is there someone who can help me make the choice between a Board for Correction of Military (or Naval) Records (BCMR/BCNR) review and a Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q14:

Will the government pay for an attorney to advise me in the matter of my Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q15:

Can my service disability rating be lowered by the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q16:

Can I appear in person for the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q17:

Why does the Physical Disability Board of Review need my VA records?

Q18:

Will my privacy be respected during the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q19:

What if I don’t consent to the release of my VA records for the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q20:

Will the Physical Disability Board of Review review my case if my VA disability determination is pending?

Q21:

Where does the Physical Disability Board of Review take place?

Q22:

Who makes the final decision for the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q23:

How will I be notified about the decision of the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q24:

Will the Physical Disability Board of Review decision be explained to me?

Q25:

If the decision of the Physical Disabilty Board of Review changes something in my records, when will the correction be effective?

Q26:

Can I appeal the decision of the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q27:

Where can I find more specific guidance on the processing and criteria for the Physical Disability Board of Review process?

Q28:

Whom can I contact if I have additional questions about the Physical Disability Board of Review?

Q29:

Am I eligible for Physical Disability Board of Review of my disability separation if I was put on the Temporary Disability Retired List Temporary Disability Retired List (TDRL) prior to September 11, 2001?

Q30:

Am I eligible for Physical Disability Board of Review if I was placed on the Temporary Disability Retired List (TDRL) between September 11, 2001 and December 31, 2009 and then permanently separated from my Military Service, with severance pay (e.g. taken off the TDRL) with a combined rating of 20% or less AFTER December 31, 2009?

Q31:

What conditions will be reviewed by the Physical Disabiltity Board of Review if I leave block #3 of the DD Form 294 blank in my application?

Q32:

What will be reviewed by the Physical Disability Board of Review if I only ask for one (named) medical condition to be reviewed, from a PEB with multiple medical conditions?

Q33:

Can I ask the Physical Disability Board of Review to review more of my medical conditions?

Q34:

How can I get the most comprehensive PDBR review of my permitted medical conditions

More information can be found at https://health.mil/PDBR or by calling our office at 973.937.6010

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn